Bipolar Disorder

My Life Goals

I cannot believe how great I’ve been doing this past month.  I almost feel guilty saying that knowing there’s lots of you out there who aren’t faring as well as me.  A little over a month ago things looked pretty dismal.  I had no motivation or hope that I would ever go back to my normal life.

I actually feel normal.  I feel happy and hopeful.

I’m making goals and working to achieve them.

I started running.  I have already registered for my first race in 8 months, a 5k in March.  I’m not going to over train this time but train smartly. I’m going to work to get my speed back this spring and get ready for a half marathon in the fall.  Just like I planned to do last year before the bipolar took over.

I’ve started the process of getting enrolled in school.  I have met with the counselor to explain what happened last semester and why I didn’t do as well as hoped.  I am meeting with disability services to work out my accommodations; something I should have done a long time ago.  I want to make sure I do everything possible to make sure I am successful this time.

So next month is my 27th birthday.  I’m coming close to 30.  That’s a scary birthday.  It’s the time your apparently supposed to “have your life together.”  Well I’m nowhere near that yet.

By the time I’m 30 I have two things I wish to accomplish:

I want to obtain my degree in business.

I want to be able to run a 7:00 mile.

Those are big goals that will require a lot of dedication and work.  In order to accomplish them I’m going to have to do one thing: stay stable.

So here’s one more goal.

Continue this blog to hold myself accountable.

As long as I’m recording my feelings and moods maybe then I can recognize when things are going awry.  And as long as I’m writing about my bipolar disorder than maybe I will never forget about it.  That’s the problem.  I forget about it and let it sneak up on me.

So I can’t let it happen this time.

2 thoughts on “My Life Goals

  1. Good for you for getting back on track! I hope you achieve all of your goals. 🙂 And please don’t feel the need to have life figured out or have everything in place by 30! I am 43 and still striving to achieve things. Live is ever-changing. You never know what is going to happen. All you can do, is do what you can, hope for the best, and accept that there are some things we don’t have control over.

    Like

    1. Thank you for this! I think I just beat myself up because I have so many friends who have it all. Good jobs, good relationships and are happy. It’s tough.

      Like

Leave a comment